or to join or start a new Discussion

11 Comments
Article Rating     Not Rated Yet

official rule

First ever post and I am doing this due to a situation that occured during a darts game.

What is the official ruleing when a dart slips out of your had when exchanging it from your holding hand to your throwing hand (the dart was not projected towards the board) and it falls over the oche?
Can you pick it up throw it again or as it has crossd the oche is that now your throw?

Any feedback would be great. Thanks

posted on 4/6/13

I thought so.

The reason for this article is this happend in a game last night.
The guy dropped his dart and he is new to the game so asked the checker if that counted as his throw where both the checker and his opponent said no pick it up and throw it.
He had already scored 80 with his first 2 and the third was another treble 20.
The scorer then marked up 80 after the third dart had been thrown claiming it was not to count as it was over
the Oche and thats the rules.
The scorer was not pulled up for this until the end of the game and he claimed he had laready written the 80 up before the third dart was thrown which was a lie and everyone new this and he was told as much then he left the pub.
Just wondered what peoples thoughts were on that kind of attitude in an amature darts league.

Cheers

posted on 4/6/13

Wow, Monday nights darts Is that just a local league, not super league or county or anything?

Think if that happened against my team it would kick off.

posted on 4/6/13

Just local league mate.
I couple of us did kick off only verbally though.

I know the idiot that did it was totally in the wrong but is it 100% the rule that he was in the wrong or did he have any case at all with dropped dart having gone over the oche?

comment by Maяcо (U1329)

posted on 5/6/13

It's 100% correct to pick it up and throw it... happens in most pro-tournaments to somebody and 9 times out of 10 it'll drop over the oche!

posted on 5/6/13

I always used to think that if it crossed the oche, it counts as a missed dart, and doesn't score.

But as Marco says, it happens frequently in pro tournaments and they get to re-throw.

Not sure if the rule changed at some point over the last few years, or if I was mislaid?

posted on 5/6/13

By the way, hello new poster

Give yourself a name, and enter the UK Open Prediction game - the darts 'board' on here is fairly quiet, but we're growing slowly.

posted on 5/6/13

I think it depends at what stage of your action it happens. If it is in your non-throwing hand or you are passing it from one hand to the other it is seen as "dead". But as soon as you start your action then it is "live" and if you drop it it counts.

Sure it has always been the case.

posted on 5/6/13

Give yourself a name, and enter the UK Open Prediction game - the darts 'board' on here is fairly quiet, but we're growing slowly.
==========
Talking of entering.... RAP

posted on 5/6/13

posted on 6/6/13

Thanks for all your comments guys really appreciated.

Its the single handed finals tomorrow so will be putting all this to him.

Thanks for the invite for the predications I will have a look at things and see what I can come up with. Not promising anything though.

I will start to keep more of an eye on the baord here and will comment from time to time.

Cheers again

Sign in if you want to comment
RATE THIS ARTICLE
Rate Breakdown
5
0 Votes
4
0 Votes
3
0 Votes
2
0 Votes
1
0 Votes

Average Rating: 0 from 0 votes

ARTICLE STATS
Day
Article RankingNot Ranked
Article ViewsNot Available
Average Time(mins)Not Available
Total Time(mins)Not Available
Month
Article RankingNot Ranked
Article ViewsNot Available
Average Time(mins)Not Available
Total Time(mins)Not Available