or to join or start a new Discussion

2 Comments
Article Rating     Not Rated Yet

Another World Cup Choke

Well, once again another predictable world cup choke.

Some people it seems do not have the mental stamina to step up and perform on the biggest stage of all, with the rugby world spotlight on their backs.

Having choked in 2007 and given a second shot in 2011, Wayne Barnes has so far added to his scandalous antics of 2007 by firstly upsetting the Welsh by failing to spot that a penalty shot at goal actually went over, and this week he has effectively ended the RWC campaign of Scotland by failing to award a penalty to Scotland in the dying seconds that should have won them the match.

If the phrase "failed to award a penalty in the dying seconds that should have won the match" sounds familiar, then it's because it is a virtual replay of Barnes' inadequacy from 4 years ago.

As the French admitted last time around, when Barnes failed to spot 18 penalty offences, the Pumas have admitted they were culpable and deserved to be penalised.

Don't worry, I'm sure that POB and the other IRB cronies will roll out the Wayne Barnes excuse mat yet again claiming that "it didn't affect the outcome" and that Scotland "should have been good enough to win anyway" or the same recycled garbage they spewed last time.

Seriously, the refereeing at the tournament has been poor, with the usual suspects rolling out their usual sub-standard performances. How Rolland managed to award a try to France whilst he spoke to the NZ front row and captain brings back memories of another famous refereeing blunder from a few years ago too, doesn't it?

If referees are not made accountable for their mistakes, mistakes will keep happening. Perhaps this time, finally Wayne Barnes will get the sack.

posted on 26/9/11

the Wayne Barnes excuse mat yet again claiming that "it didn't affect the outcome"
========================

to be fair, i dont thnk scotland were going to win the tournament.

posted on 26/9/11

First off, Barnes didnt judge the kick from Hook. Touch judges do this.
Second, I checked it out as different people say different things as to whether it was offside or not. 1hr41 on itvplayer you can see if you pause it that Contepomi moves EXACTLY as Lawson puts hands on the ball. So it was a good call.
Lastly, Scotland didnt manage a try against Georgia or Argentina so they deserve to go home imo. See ya in four years

Sign in if you want to comment
RATE THIS ARTICLE
Rate Breakdown
5
0 Votes
4
0 Votes
3
0 Votes
2
0 Votes
1
0 Votes

Average Rating: 0 from 0 votes

ARTICLE STATS
Day
Article RankingNot Ranked
Article ViewsNot Available
Average Time(mins)Not Available
Total Time(mins)Not Available
Month
Article RankingNot Ranked
Article ViewsNot Available
Average Time(mins)Not Available
Total Time(mins)Not Available